Main navigation

Our Team

Adult Carers' Team

Alan Phizacklea, Benefits Advice Worker

Alan Phizacklea

Benefits Advice Worker

Email: alan.phizacklea@blackpoolcarers.org

I deal with benefit enquiries helping carers who have young families. I assist the carer and the person they care for, to access benefits to which they are entitled, to fully maximise their income. I  also assist clients to challenge benefit decisions including disallowance and sanctions through the reconsideration and appeal stages.

Amy Cookson, Family Support Worker

Amy Cookson

Family Support Worker

Email: amy.cookson@blackpoolcarers.org

I work on the Family Focus Project. I support young people aged 5-18 who may be offering emotional and practical support to someone suffering from mental ill health or a substance misuse problem. I will work with the whole family offering intensive support to both adults and children living within the household.

Amy Gunniss, Family Support Worker

Amy Gunniss

Family Support Worker

Email: amy.gunniss@blackpoolcarers.org

I support young people aged 5-18 who may be offering emotional and practical support to someone suffering from mental ill health. Each young person’s caring role differs from family to family, as does the impact on the young person, the support we offer is tailored to each individual families need.

Ann Hollis, Hand in Hand Project Administrator

Ann Hollis

Hand in Hand Project Administrator

Email: ann.hollis@blackpoolcarers.org

Along with general administration tasks, I facilitate the Parent Carers Advisory Group working to highlight the hard work parent carers are involved in, I also run the craft/activity group and I liaise with carers taking bookings for the holiday home.

Anne Wright, Adult Carer Support Worker

Anne Wright

Adult Carer Support Worker

Email: anne.wright@blackpoolcarers.org

I am a Dementia Carers’ Support Worker offering advice, support groups and training courses to carers and their families looking after someone living with dementia. I help carers prepare and plan for the future whilst leading fulfilling lives themselves.

Camilla Ball, Young Carers' Respite Coordinator

Camilla Ball

Young Carers' Respite Coordinator

Email: camilla.ball@blackpoolcarers.org

I support young carers aged 5-16 to live a better life, raise their aspirations and help them with any issues that they may be facing. I also help to run the respite activities and youth clubs with my colleague Amy Cookson.

Carla Talbott, Adult Carer Support Worker

Carla Talbott

Adult Carer Support Worker

Email: carla.talbott@blackpoolcarers.org

My role is to provide information and support for carers of people with a mental illness. I offer emotional and practical support in the form of peer and one to one support enabling these carers to look after themselves and continue caring.

Christopher Lear, Adult Carer Support Worker

Christopher Lear

Adult Carer Support Worker

Email: christopher.lear@blackpoolcarers.org

I provide adult carers with information, empathy and emotional support. By actively listening to and working with carers, a package of support can then be put in place to help enhance adult carers’ health and well-being though signposting to services. I work closely with GPs to promote patient referrals into our service.

Daniel Foster, Young Carers' Respite Coordinator

Daniel Foster

Young Carers' Respite Coordinator

Email: daniel.foster@blackpoolcarers.org

Together with my colleague Camilla Ball, I organise and facilitate respite activities for our young carers including youth clubs, trips and residential weekends.

Dawn Maher, Adult Carers' Lead

Dawn Maher

Adult Carers' Lead

Email: dawn.maher@blackpoolcarers.org

As Lead Adult Carers’ Worker, I manage the team of Adult Carer Support Workers as well as Social Work and Counselling Students. I also develop and co-ordinate the support we offer to adult carers and manage a caseload of my own.

Duncan Campbell, Hand in Hand Project Support Worker

Duncan Campbell

Hand in Hand Project Support Worker

Email: duncan.campbell@blackpoolcarers.org

I support parent carers with children up to the age of 25 who have disabilities. We offer practical and emotional support and hold peer support activities/groups.

Emma Whitty-Haddock, Hand in Hand Project Worker

Emma Whitty-Haddock

Hand in Hand Project Worker

Email: emma.whitty-haddock@blackpoolcarers.org

I work with parents who care for a child up to 25 years of age, due to their additional needs. Support can be both emotional and practical to help ensure a better life for these carers.

Faye Atherton, Head of Services

Faye Atherton

Head of Services

Email: faye.atherton@blackpoolcarers.org

I oversee all the services to ensure the smooth running of the Centre.

Gillian Singer, Young Adult Carers' Support Worker

Gillian Singer

Young Adult Carers' Support Worker

Email: gillian.singer@blackpoolcarers.org

I support Young Adult Carers aged 16-25, offering holistic assessment and tailored support around emotional wellbeing, health and education. This support encourages young people to achieve their aspirations and full potential.

I also organise trips and weekly peer support groups, where activities are led by the young people. Here, they can develop a range of social and practical skills.

Hannah Fletcher, Family Support Team Leader

Hannah Fletcher

Family Support Team Leader

Email: hannah.fletcher@blackpoolcarers.org

I oversee all our Family Support projects.

Helen Hay, Work Experience Coordinator - Learning Disability

Helen Hay

Work Experience Coordinator - Learning Disability

Email: helen.hay@blackpoolcarers.org

I work with 16-19 year old students with learning difficulties and disabilities and co-ordinate their work experience placements. I assess each student’s strengths, abilities and aspirations and find them a suitable placement within local businesses which will help to develop their skills, confidence and awareness of work opportunities available.

Helena Brown, Adult Carer Support Worker

Helena Brown

Adult Carer Support Worker

Email: helena.brown@blackpoolcarers.org

I support people caring for someone with dementia. I provide one to one emotional support for carers, assessing their needs and making referrals to other agencies as appropriate. I also provide Dementia Awareness Training for carers, helping them to understand the condition, explaining the things they might encounter and provide opportunities to share experiences in a supportive environment.

Julie Swift, Charity Administrator

Julie Swift

Charity Administrator

Email: julie.swift@blackpoolcarers.org

I have an extremely varied role within the admin team including accounts and payroll.  I also take all the bookings for respite activities and will probably be the first person you speak to when you call!

Karen Cooke, Carers' Hospital Project Worker

Karen Cooke

Carers' Hospital Project Worker

Email: karen.cooke@blackpoolcarers.org

I work with carers and their families within the hospital setting. I work with ward staff, social workers and other professionals promoting early discharge and preventing re-admissions by providing the carer with emotional and practical support fulfill their caring role.

Karolina Dabrowska, Hand in Hand Project Support Worker

Karolina Dabrowska

Hand in Hand Project Support Worker

Email: karolina.dabrowska@blackpoolcarers.org

I work with parents who care for a child up to 25 years of age, due to their additional needs. Support can be both emotional and practical to help ensure a better life for these carers.

Kay Soper, Support Services Manager

Kay Soper

Support Services Manager

Email: kay.soper@blackpoolcarers.org

I help to raise awareness of the charity by creating all our promotional material including Caring Times magazine, leaflets and posters for each service. I also manage our website and database, coordinate IT support and organise fundraising events including Cash Quest for Carers and our annual Charity Ball.

Kelly Anderson, Hand in Hand Project Support Worker

Kelly Anderson

Hand in Hand Project Support Worker

Email: kelly.anderson@blackpoolcarers.org

I work with parents who care for a child up to 25 years of age, due to their additional needs. Support can be both emotional and practical to help ensure a better life for these carers.

Kerry Dalton, Family Support Worker

Kerry Dalton

Family Support Worker

Email: kerry.dalton@blackpoolcarers.org

I provide the whole family with emotional, practical and social support. I help parents access the right support and work together with the whole family to build on their relationships.

Liam Quinn, Respite Coordinator/Social Media Advisor

Liam Quinn

Respite Coordinator/Social Media Advisor

Email: liam.quinn@blackpoolcarers.org

My role is to assist the Respite Coordinators providing respite for Young Carers ages 5-16 as well as shadowing family support workers to gain a greater knowledge and understanding. I also promote and raise awareness of the organisation on Social Media platforms.

Louise Herd, Finance Officer

Louise Herd

Finance Officer

Email: louise.herd@blackpoolcarers.org

I play a key role in the smooth running of the organisation through the provision of accurate and timely financial information.

Michaela Goodridge, Adult Carers' Support Worker

Michaela Goodridge

Adult Carers' Support Worker

Email: michaela.goodridge@blackpoolcarers.org

I provide adult carers with emotional and social support through information, advice and signposting, both on a one to one basis and in a group setting. Our support aims to improve the health and well-being of carers and makes their lives better.

Michelle Smith, Chief Executive Officer

Michelle Smith

Chief Executive Officer

Email: michelle.smith@blackpoolcarers.org

I lead a value driven, professional team with passion and a strong vision. Privileged to be working with inspiring individuals who keep me focused. Enjoying the opportunity to raise aspirations and ‘grow our own’ young people. I use my experience of financial management and fundraising to ensure that every penny is spent on improving the lives of carers. Sadly enjoy governance!

Nigel McMurdo, Operations Director

Nigel McMurdo

Operations Director

Email: nigel.mcmurdo@blackpoolcarers.org

I manage the support staff, hold everything together, make sense of the chaos, develop others and help shape service provision.

Sian Howarth, Income Generation Coordinator

Sian Howarth

Income Generation Coordinator

Email: sian.howarth@blackpoolcarers.org

Tara Bragg, Young Carers' Champion

Tara Bragg

Young Carers' Champion

Email: tara.bragg@blackpoolcarers.org

As one of two Young Carers Champions, I help to raise awareness of our charity. In addition to this I am also part of the Admin Team and provide administrative support  across all the different teams within the organisation

Terry Hodkinson, Volunteer and Training Coordinator

Terry Hodkinson

Volunteer and Training Coordinator

Email: terry.hodkinson@blackpoolcarers.org

My role involves talking to different organisations and people from all walks of life, who are willing and able to help us by volunteering. I then support with any training necessary. The Centre has lots of volunteering opportunities, including front of house, reception, administration and helping at various, age specific support groups and activities. We are so grateful to anyone that can spare any time to volunteer for us. If you would like further information, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Tom McMurdo, Head of Governance and Income Generation

Tom McMurdo

Head of Governance and Income Generation

Email: tom.mcmurdo@blackpoolcarers.org

My role involves Human Resources, Health and Safety, Quality, Monitoring and Governance.

Tracy Taylor, Footcare Technician

Tracy Taylor

Footcare Technician

Email: tracy.taylor@blackpoolcarers.org

I carry out dedicated and accessible foot care tailored to suit your needs from the comfort of your own home. Treatments include a cleansing foot soak, nail trim and file and relaxing foot massage using moisture enriched creams.